Why Philippines?

Kuya John
Posted
Posted (edited)

As a new member to the forum I am not sure if this subject has been covered in depth.

Many of you already made the decision to make Philippines you home.

For people like myself who are contemplating retirement, it would be most helpful if you would kindly share your reasons. There will I'm sure be pluses and minuses, but think it would be most helpful on subjects like medical facilities, visa permits, culture differences, property pitfalls etc etc.

Thanks in advance for any replies.....JB

Edited by Kuya John

Methersgate
Posted
Posted (edited)

1. I have some experience of the place, and am not starting from cold, so to speak.
2.. The women

3-102. Ditto

103. English is more or less spoken and sometimes it is even understood.

104. You don't need central heating.

105. I quite like mangoes

106. Cost of living may be less.

107. I have Filipino friends, whose company I genuinely enjoy. Of course, I have friends in North America, in Sri Lanka, in Germany, in Norway, in Hong Kong, in Japan, in China, but they are all places that are expensive and/or speak another language. 

108. My adult son has dual citizenship, so in my case the "foreigner" restrictions on ownership of land are not an issue.

Edited by Methersgate
  • Like 4

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

Kuya, the answers to this question will be many and varied.

For me it was:

This is where my wife was born so after 20 years following me, my turn to follow her

Upon our retirement, where to live that our standard of living would not drop and we would not have to continue working until social security kicked in.

Where I can get 95% of the things I am used to

English is widely spoken

Something different

• Like 5

lonewolf
Posted
Posted

Kuya, the answers to this question will be many and varied.

For me it was:

This is where my wife was born so after 20 years following me, my turn to follow her