Special Education Schools In Quezon City Or Metro Manila

Bellacissa
Posted
Posted

We are moving to QC at the end of the year.  My son is 14 and has a mental illness.  No social or behavioral problems at school, just academic ones.  I've been homeschooling him for the past two years, but he's expressed a desire to go back to school.  He's on about a 6th grade level academically.

Are there any schools that handle special education students in the area?  If not, are there any social groups for expat teens that meet regularly?

• Like 1

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

Bella, I did a google search on "special education Philippines" I saw a Facebook group that might be promising. Other than that I didn't find much. Just based on experience of living here I would be willing to bet that any programs will most likely be at private, for profit schools. Best of luck to you

• Like 2

Bellacissa
Posted
Posted

Thanks, Scott.  That's pretty much what my online search came up with as well.  We'll probably just stick with homeschooling and try to get him into some after school type activities.

He's just turned 14 last week and is already 6' 2".  Anyone need a center for a basketball team?   :hystery:

• Like 3

MacBubba
Posted
Posted

There is a facility called Cupertino Center in La Vista in Quezon City.  Maybe try getting in touch with them.  They might be able to assist you, or provide a referral.

Bellacissa
Posted
Posted

Thanks!  I'll check them out.

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

Just based on experience of living here I would be willing to bet that any programs will most likely be at private, for profit schools.

Not necessarily Scott. Bella, over Dinner Saturday night I spoke to my Sister-in-Law about this ( She is an Elementary Teacher) But holds a committee place on Area activities.