Paying Taxes--Soc Security Long Term Disability

Ultravox
Posted
Posted

Hi...will be getting approximately $2500.00 per month long term disability. Will be living in cebu , payments direct deposited in to a US account. Do I have to pay any taxes--or file a tax return at all? Anyone know the rules on this? Thanks!!

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted
Do I have to pay any taxes--or file a tax return at all?

Philippine income taxes? No. You only have to pay taxes to the Philippines on income earned in the Philippines.

USA taxes? Yes (in my case with a military pension) I am not a tax professional, but I am relatively positive is that if your paying taxes on your disability income in the States, you will have to file while you are here. (federal anyway).

What I did was change my home of record to the Philippines when I retired, that way I don't have to pay Jerry Brown any, just Mr. Obama lololol.

• Like 2

chris49
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hi...will be getting approximately $2500.00 per month long term disability. Will be living in cebu , payments direct deposited in to a US account. Do I have to pay any taxes--or file a tax return at all? Anyone know the rules on this? Thanks!!

Philippines taxes. No ,that would be dual taxation, income earned in one country will not be taxed in a 2nd country.

US Taxes, depends on your total income. Assume you know that, you still file your US taxes each year.

Edited by chris49
  • Like 2

Ultravox
Posted
Posted

Thank you both for the replies. Am sorry was unclear. Yes, was just referring to US taxes. Am new to all this---SS disability income---just wasnt sure how taxes worked and if had to file. I have since discovered-as you both stated-yes, I do...IF income over 25 k-which it will.

Do most folks there have income direct deposited in US accts, then transferred to a peso account there? I know CitiBank has a Cebu branch...Any recommendations?

Thank you!

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted