An Expat in a PI College - Would I Fit In?

bows00
Posted
Posted

The first time around, I got a degree in Mechanical Engineering for financial reasons only, and spent the next 30 years as an engineer for the Department of the US Navy.  I will be retiring next year and I am looking forward to spending my years in the Philippines.  I will be 56 years old (sign... my how time flies).  And I truly have the desire to return to college for the sake of learning this time (e.g., Art, History, Finances, etc.)

But one concern I have is that I have noticed that the Filipino students seem to be more immature when compared to US counterparts.  For example, I could easily attend community colleges here in the US, and although I would be the old guy in class, it wouldn't be too bad.  But it is another story if I'm sitting in a class full of 8th graders, which I am afraid would be the equivalent in the Philippines.  Am I right on assuming this?

I am looking forward to checking out a university (Silliman) in person this year to get a better feel for this.  And I have written to Foreign advisors with no reply so far.  Any feedback would be helpful...

robert k
Posted
Posted
8 minutes ago, bows00 said:

The first time around, I got a degree in Mechanical Engineering for financial reasons only, and spent the next 30 years as an engineer for the Department of the US Navy.  I will be retiring next year and I am looking forward to spending my years in the Philippines.  I will be 56 years old (sign... my how time flies).  And I truly have the desire to return to college for the sake of learning this time (e.g., Art, History, Finances, etc.)