SSDI

Rory
Posted
Posted

I am on the edge of moving to Cebu. I am a disabled vet and my ability to work is almost at the point where I cannot anymore. My work is looking at disability retirement to coincide with my VA. My question is will i be able to collect social security disability while out of the US?

• Like 1

chris49
Posted
Posted

What age?

Social Security Disabilty is an amount given on top of SS, commonly $200-$300 more.

If you are already approved in USA, you will get the money here. I see no question on that. If disability was not yet approved, it would be almost impossible to get it approved here.

Social Security Supplemental Income, which is for low income retirees in USA, cannot be paid outside the USA.

• Like 2

Rory
Posted
Posted

I am 90 % disabled from the Military and currently a Government employee but my service connected disability is having several effects on my current employment. From what the HR office has said and I have researched. I would be moved to 100% VA, 40% of my annual gross from my current employer and eligible for SSGT Disability which at my current pay is just over 1200 USA. Bringing my possible net monthly between 4000-5000 USD. As best as I can figure but I will not be dissatisfied with anything over 2800 USD. That is why I am asking, I want to make sure I can extract as much as possible to sustain an easy life for my family.  I am 41yo. and would greatly appreciate any advice anyone could offer. Particularly in school tuition in the Talamban area of Cebu my son is 10 and daughter is 2.

• Like 1

Rory
Posted
Posted

Sorry spell check not SSGT..... BUT Social Security Disability Income

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted
10 minutes ago, Rory said:

I am 90 % disabled