Philippines Customs and CITES Treaty

davewe
Posted
Posted

I am an amateur luthier and sometime guitar player. I either sold or gave away (to my kids) all my guitars, save one, which I will be bringing to the Philippines. It's my latest build and I'm very happy with the sound and playability. Because of my fear of the airlines and baggage handlers, I sprung for a more expensive case to protect my baby; a Hiscox (British made) case. So now I thought I am covered.

However, the new changes to the CITES treaty which covers wood exportation includes all rosewoods, ebonies, cocobolo, etc. In fact it's hard to make a quality guitar without using some of these woods. I know that the US, for example, allows an exemption for bringing in "banned" woods that are part of a personal musical instrument.

My experience having gone through Philippines customs many times is that they generally don't even look at the bags. But in this instance who knows. I have emailed the Philippines Customs Dept. to see if they can tell me what the rules are and what I can or should do about it.

The changes in the treaty have only been in place for a few months but I wondered if anyone has come into the country with banned wood and what your experience was. I would think it's safest to declare what I have and document that it's my own personal guitar, rather than hoping it'll get passed through customs.

BTW, here's a few pics:

DSC00458.jpg

DSC00462.jpg

DSC00489.jpg

DSC00513.jpg

• Like 3

robert k
Posted
Posted

I doubt immigration is going to have many wood experts.

• Like 2

Jake
Posted
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, davewe said:

BTW, here's a few pics:

DSC00458.jpg

DSC00462.jpg

DSC00489.jpg

DSC00513.jpg

Wow Davewe, awesome craftsmanship!

Edited by Jake
  • Like 3

bows00
Posted
Posted

My baby is the Martin D-28 Keb Mo Signature model with Koa backing.  Yeah, my baby...

• Like 2

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

My gosh those are lovely, amazing craftsmanship!

• Like 2