Tax on Pension From UK

PaulB
Posted
Posted

Dear Fonts of All Knowledge,

I have been working overseas for the last 15 years, outside the UK. I do receive a Police Pension due to early retirement caused by medical condition from on the job trauma. I have never really thought about it until now but have not managed to find the answer on Google.

I pay tax on the Pension but I am only ever in the UK for around 14 days a year. Can I claim this back or is as it is earned in UK I still pay. I only ask as when researching I found that your State Pension, if you live that long, can be paid tax free.

Any advice welcomed and if I get the tax back I might be tempted to offer a few cold ones!!

Paul

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted
45 minutes ago, PaulB said:

I pay tax on the Pension but I am only ever in the UK for around 14 days a year. Can I claim this back or is as it is earned in UK I still pay. I only ask as when researching I found that your State Pension, if you live that long, can be paid tax free.

My mother gets a small state pension from the UK and only worked there for about 2 years before moving to Canada.  She was told she did not have to pay tax on it and that was true, in the UK, but the Canadian tax authorities got hold of the info and said that the income is added to her Canadian Income and if it puts her over the threshold of what she can earn in Canadian pensions then she has to pay Canadian tax on the UK pension.  Sorry I cannot add more info but hope that little snippet helps :huh:

• Like 1

Huggybearman
Posted
Posted (edited)
52 minutes ago, PaulB said:

Dear Fonts of All Knowledge,

I have been working overseas for the last 15 years, outside the UK. I do receive a Police Pension due to early retirement caused by medical condition from on the job trauma. I have never really thought about it until now but have not managed to find the answer on Google.

Any advice welcomed and if I get the tax back I might be tempted to offer a few cold ones!!

Paul