What about books, cds & dvds?

Perla
Posted
Posted

Hello,

With MP3 & YouTube cds are practically worth nothing.

Same applies to dvds.

And old books?

How will they be taxed? Only professional booksellers

would be able to put prices on books.

I'm a retired librarian myself.

Anyone with experience concerning such items?

Thanks a lot!

Kind regards,

Perla

• Like 1

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Perla said:

And old books

on 2012 I brought hundreds of used books in my container and was not taxed. Welcome to the forum

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Perla said:

cds are practically worth nothing.

Same applies to dvds.

And old books?

How will they be taxed?

This is Philippines, you may have a different experience than others.  In general, people ship items like that in their luggage or in balikbayan boxes and have no duty to pay.  If you are sending sufficient quantities to draw the attention of customs then they may think the items are not for personal use and you may have to pay some tax.  

• Like 1

bigpearl
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Perla said:

Anyone with experience concerning such items?

I like scott h have thousands of books, archived and read once, the occasional one twice, you know what? In my/our move I will get rid of 40 plus years of *rap/dust collectors as there are many more,,,,,,,, too many novels/literature to consider reading let alone move them to another country, the same with music, 500 plus vinyl and over thousand cd's, what for? They are all ,,,,,,, or most available on the net, my old music collection in hard copy pales against the 2 plus Gb I have on a couple of hard drives collected over the last 10 years and guess what, all replaceable. Hard copies are gone unless you have serious collectables and as a wise inquisitive soul you will know the value/rarity of the same.