In The Dead Of Night Hail Mary Chanters

russellmania
Posted
Posted

Ok..I have been coming to the Phils since 2005,retired here in 2015. This is a first for me. Lately the last 3 saturday nights at exactly 4am I hear HAIL MARY, over and over by 5 or 6 filipino women walking slowly down my street. I sleep with windows open most nights because this neighborhood is quiet. No dogs barking etc etc. I hear them before they get walk past my place holding candles and it seems as they turned the corner I hear them singing for the 1st time and not xmas carols. Is this a normal tradition or what?

• Like 1

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted (edited)
1 hour ago, russellmania said:

Is this a normal tradition or what?

Yes, at certain time of the year and in certain locations it is common for Catholics to parade along the streets of Liloan, Cebu at 4:30 am on their way to early morning mass (at least they did when I lived there).  There is often one or two guys with a drum at the end of the procession and these are the most annoying ones.  I cannot remember the name for it and it is annoying if one sleeps with the window open and I have not seen it in other cities.   Is this happening in the Metro Cebu area or somewhere else?

Edited by Dave Hounddriver
  • Like 1

Kuya John
Posted
Posted

I looked it up Russ

I cant find any special reason for that at this time of year, but I guess it beats roosters any day. :thumbsup:

• Haha 1

Gator
Posted
Posted
2 hours ago, Dave Hounddriver said: