heath insurance

Darryl Bailey
Posted
Posted

I'm going to retire there in 19 months and was  looking for info

I was hoping someone here would know if philheath would count as heath insurance . 

in the U.S. if u don't have heath insurance they fine u. the fine is like $670 and up if philheath is $300 

it might be the way to go 

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

There are a lot of topics here about phil health, I am not an expert on it, but I believe it is only used when you are actually hospitalized, not for routine matters. The search function is really good here. There is no law here mandating health insurance btw

welcome to the forum

roddavis
Posted
Posted
4 hours ago, Darryl Bailey said:

I was hoping someone here would know if philheath would count as heath insurance . 

in the U.S. if u don't have heath insurance they fine u. the fine is like $670 and up if philheath is $300 

If your address is showing here in PI when you file your US taxes....you will not pay cuz your out of the US. Its one of the questions(TurboTax) asks for if you lived in the US.:wait_80_anim_gif:

• Like 1

OnMyWay
Posted
Posted
4 hours ago, roddavis said:

If your address is showing here in PI when you file your US taxes....you will not pay cuz your out of the US. Its one of the questions(TurboTax) asks for if you lived in the US.

You have to be out of the U.S. for a certain period of months and then you can file for an exemption using form 8965.  Just using a PI address is not enough.

Tukaram (Tim)
Posted
Posted

If you live outside the country for 330 days a year you are not required (or in fact even eligible) for the ACA.   If you are here full time, you can get PhilHealth or not - it will not affect your tax burden.  If you are here less than 330 days I do not know if PhilHeatlh would qualify, I seriously doubt it would.

Source: (scroll down to item 12 in "who is affected"