Buy or Rent?

Kevin Freeman
Posted
Posted

Hi all

I have been visiting Phil for many years, at last l have met the woman l wish to marry and settle down with in Bilican (formerly a province of Leyte), l do not intend to move n live there for another 4 years(waiting retirement age 66), l will have a little nest egg, State pension and Army pensions. I am an easy going man who enjoys the simple life and l am happy to move my future wife out of Manila to live in her province with my future stepdaughter who lives there already with my partners parents.

The problem l have is due to the lack of developments, l cannot find a suitable 2/3 bedroom house/villa/bungalow to purchase or am l looking at this the wrong way? Am l better of buying or renting?

Advice please

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Kevin Freeman said:

The problem l have is due to the lack of developments, l cannot find a suitable 2/3 bedroom house/villa/bungalow to purchase or am l looking at this the wrong way? Am l better of buying or renting?

I know there are a few places for sale in Biliran but its hard to find a good rental.  They are there but require a little luck to find them. 

Are you sure you want to live there?  Many find its not for them after a few years and once you have bought there it is almost impossible to sell for what you have into it.

What barangay/city would you live in?

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted
19 minutes ago, Dave Hounddriver said:

I know there are a few places for sale in Biliran but its hard to find a good rental.

Is  Bilican and Biliran the same place ? I guess so but small typo. 

Personally I would not buy anything 4 years from when you intend to live there. At the moment she is your future wife so wait until the future is here. Are you sure she will want to leave Manila ? 

• Like 2

Gary Wak
Posted
Posted
51 minutes ago, Dave Hounddriver said: