TRAIN Tax Reform

Petey
Posted
Posted

Hello all. It's been a while. Hope everyone is doing well.

I had a browse thru the forums regarding the new TRAIN Tax Law, but didn't find anything. I thought i would ask the community what their thoughts are... for the expat and also for the family in general?

Pretty sure people who are interested in this topic may already be aware of the changes, but those who haven't i'll pop this link up. https://www.pinoymoneytalk.com/philippine-tax-reform-list-of-new-taxes/  It certainly seems that they have taken a sledgehammer to a nutshell with this. I'm no expert, but i do worry when i see price jumps in my shopping and bills.

The poorest will be hit hardest. Persons making under minimum wage - though will have 0% Tax Rate off their income, they will be hit hard because the increase in amenities and food costs due to the TRAIN Tax. Micro and small businesses will also take a huge slap to the face because of purchasing stock for the business.

Today i had a text from my bank telling me that i have to pay Tax on my mortgage documents. Why? I have no clue. We already signed a contract 3yrs back and now they want to change something that we never even considered. Certainly unfair. But makes me worried that they will want to retro-implement the payments... for reasons. But i'll hopefully find out tomorrow.

I would be interested to see what others feeling and thoughts are, especially from the expats that are living here long term. 

Many thanks.

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted

Thanks for the list of new taxes.  Its the gasoline increase that hurts me the hardest.  It will not hurt much for short trips on a motorcycle but long trips with the car will be more costly.  Shame that the tax on gas includes, accidentally, a tax on water which is almost always in the gas as they never drain their storage tanks so I end up buying water in my gas :bonk:

• Like 1

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted (edited)
2 hours ago, Petey said: