Gold (jewelry)

KurtVD
Posted
Posted

Do any of you guys know anything about jewelry made out of gold, sold here in the Philippines? Are the prices any different than in the West, let’s say for a relatively simple piece like an earring, that doesn’t need hours and hours of labours? And where should one buy it, if he has no experience in the matter, to avoid getting scammed? I know that in Thailand and Vietnam, there are Goldshops everywhere, but I don’t know if they are all equally trustworthy, and if they have different prices at all, since the price of gold is a bit like currency, eg it’s negotiated on the international markets.  

Complete newbie here, thankful for any input whatsoever. 

JJReyes
Posted
Posted

"Caveat Emptor" or "Buyer Beware" so the only advise is to purchase something that is not too expensive. Don't think of buying jewelry as an investment. The retail markup is very high. Jewelry is a lifestyle -- as a gift to someone you like or love.

• Like 2

Rooster
Posted
Posted

Asawa & I were in Bangkok last year. I bought her a Thai Baht necklace, the links kept breaking, her hair was getting stuck in the links so she traded it for a nicer gold necklace at a pawn shop in town. So far so good so try some pawn shops.

Have you ever been to Binondo/China Town in Manila? Many gold stores there. This one is pretty famous with celebrities.

As always. Buyer Beware.

Gary D
Posted
Posted

Gold in the Philippines is more portable weaith than a fashion statement. It's price is ususlly by weight per grade.

• Like 1

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted
1 hour ago, Gary D said:

Gold in the Philippines is more portable weaith than a fashion statement.

Yes but there is gold and there is GOLD  I tend to think this is what the OP was asking

Rooster
Posted
Posted
11 minutes ago, Jack Peterson said:

Yes but there is gold and there is GOLD  I tend to think this is what the OP was asking

https://www.wikihow.com/Tell-if-Gold-Is-Real