Military Passenger Flights?

i am bob
Posted
Posted

Hey all!

This may sound like a dumb question - and it probably is - but you know the old saying... No question is dumb unless you don't ask it! So... Back in the time that I retired from the Canadian Armed Forces, retired service personnel could not fly on our own military passenger flights (as we didn't have any) but could fly using reciprocating countries flights (ie: I could hop on an American Service flight under the same benefits as a retired American serviceman's benefits). Does anyone know if retirees are still allowed this benefit in the US? And, if so, is there a scheduled service to Asia still? If they are - and there is, then I can try and find out if I can possibly take advantage of a low fare to the Philippines - maybe...

• Like 1

• Forum Support
scott h
Posted
Posted

I have no direct knowledge of sister services using american MAC flights. I do know that MAC (military airlift command) has a facebook page for each terminal and you can google the rules and regulations. Sadly the closest you will get to the Phil is Osan Airbase in South Korea.

i am bob
Posted
Posted

I have no direct knowledge of sister services using american MAC flights. I do know that MAC (military airlift command) has a facebook page for each terminal and you can google the rules and regulations. Sadly the closest you will get to the Phil is Osan Airbase in South Korea.

Thanks Scott! It sure is a lot cheaper to fly to the Philippines from South Korea than from Toronto... hehe! I'll have to go into the evilness I try to avoid (Facebook) to find their pages! And, then, if it's viable, contact my retired service personnel's office to confirm if it's still doable!

• Like 1

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

My son (active USMC) says there are no USAF flights to Philippines an active service member can use to visit other than official business.

i am bob
Posted
Posted