Cost Of New Construction In Cebu

CebuDreamer
Posted
Posted

Greetings! I am a newbie here on the forum but would like to know if anyone has any experience in this area. I have been married to a wonderful Cebuana for just over 15 years now and we have decided to relocate to Cebu (later this year for the wife and kids, hopefully by end of next year for myself).

My wife and daughters will be moving in June of this year and staying with her parents temporarily while the girls start school and they get settled in. We have some property there that we will be building our home on and I will remain in the States until that is complete. There are a couple of reasons for that:

1) When we were all there in 2010, we contacted a contractor about building the house and I could tell when he looked at me that all he saw were dollar signs. If I am not there and the contractor is dealing with my wife only (along with a couple of her brothers) I think we will get a more reasonable price.

2) Secondly, I want the home to be built before I give up my job and regular income. I love the inlaws, but don't necessarily want to live in the same home with them for a year or more while our house is being built.

3) Thirdly, I also need time to build up my side business so I will have some online income coming my way after I join my family in Cebu.

We want to build a two-story home with three bedrooms, 2 comfort rooms, an office for me, a kitchen and a living area. It doesn't have to be anything all that large because we are hoping to live a more simple life in the PI, but we do want to be comfortable. After doing some reading and asking some questions, I'm thinking it will likely cost between $30,000 and $35,000 to get this done. Am I in the ballpark?

I also have to worry about the taxes. The property is very near the IT Park and the Waterfront Hotel in Lahug, so the property value has gone up quite a bit since we took ownership of it a few years ago.

Any help is greatly appreciated!