Drinking Tapwater...in Davao City ??

2Cats2
Posted
Posted

Okay… Maybe a dumb question, but I'll give it a shot.

I have been coming to the Philippines quite often for the last three years. I had a job in China which allowed me to visit frequently. Wherever I was, I always chose tapwater for cleaning teeth. Also for boiling to make coffee or tea.

But for drinking straight, I would buy bottled water.

However I was talking to another expat yesterday about the drinking water.  He said that in Davao city than tap water was the cleanest and purest in the Philippines.  It is drinkable. He said it's the only place in the Philippines where you can safely drink the water straight from the tap without getting sick.

Really?? Can anyone else confirm this before I give it a tryout?

I go to the gym most days of the week to stay in shape. I usually take and drink  a 1 L bottle of water. The cost is trivial but the hassle is the weight of buying multiple bottles of drinking water and getting them home. Using water straight from the tap (as I would do in the UK) would be so much more convenient.

Can someone else with longer experience than me in Davao city please give some solid advice?

Thank you.  :-)

2Cats2.

Markham
Posted
Posted

Prior to moving to Davao, I read an article which said that, according to the WHO, Davao has one of the purest city water supplies on earth. However that refers to the fact that the city's water supply is pumped up from aquifers several hundred feet underground and what DCWD - the water company - does with it once it reaches the surface, is anyone's guess. One thing's for sure, like everywhere else in the Philippines, Davao's tap water is "hard" which may not be good news if you're prone to kidney stones. But it is certainly drinkable - my wife thrives on it.

Thomas
Posted
Posted