Hollow Blocks

RBM
Posted
Posted

Firstly I have zero building experience. The limited knowledge gained has been from reading forums and talking to people, both locals and expats.

As we are going to be building a modest house early next year any in put would be greatly appreciated.

What has me puzzled is some recent statements from seemingly knowledgeable people.

1.....Its a waste of money to make strong ( 28 blocks from a bag) as they are nothing more than a mold.

2.....Contradicting statements claiming its essential to make decent strong blocks.

3....In the confusion I have almost decided to use the larger blocks think 6X 8 inches and settle around 50 to a bag.

As living a small city where carpenters are pretty much set in their ways I have no intention of trying to radically change the current system.  Just prefer to spend a little more and have extra strength. 

Hope some feed back.

• Like 3

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

I have to agree with Scott on this,We chose a small Block maker locally and contracted him to make the Entire 5000 we needed. we called them of regularly at a days notice, He always topped up the Amount we had delivered.  If you use the same maker all the time you can almost Guarantee, the consistency :rolleyes: ?

Your Engineer should be able to tell you within a few Hundred what is required. This will help also to keep the Cost Control in Check. When we came to do the Exterior Wall, he was more than Happy to make the 2000 Blocks needed at an even Better price than the House. Sometimes you just have to Trust. He then Introduced us to his nephew ( a Welder) who did us a fantastic Job on the metal work.

Pays to stay as Local as you can in these things.

JP :tiphat:

• Like 4

anthonytt
Posted
Posted

I would think it depends on if you will be building a single story or a 2 story where as you will have load bearing walls.