Lgbtqi+: Life In Cebu As A Queer Expat

Hygge
Posted
Posted

I'm considering taking a job in Cebu City, and have a few questions about what life is like for queer women there. Is it difficult to meet queer women? Is there a community of queer expats? Is PDA between same-sex couples discouraged? Dangerous? Any related information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! 

Guy F.
Posted
Posted (edited)

It seems to me that about 5% of the Filipino males seen in public are obviously gay. My wife has several openly gay male cousins. There is a very high degree of cultural tolerance. During my months of vacationing there I haven't noticed more than a few obviously gay females, but maybe I'm not good at identifying them. PDA of any stripe is quite rare.

Edited by Guy F.

DavidK
Posted
Posted

I don't know about a community of queer expats but judging from my wife's circle of friends there are plenty of lesbian/gay locals who are fully accepted in the community here in Cebu City. She has a number of lesbian friends who openly live together.

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted (edited)