I'm Thinking Between Cebu And Duma?

AlwaysRt
Posted
Posted

First time here but been to a few dozen countries over the years, the last being a couple months in Guatemala the beginning of this year. As a veteran I first thought about Clark (obvious right?), the more I read the better Cebu sounded, and then Dumaguete. I'm still guessing though and would appreciate suggestions. My priority list (copy/pasted from my introduction post) with added detail is:

1)Not cold

2)affordable - I prefer to keep everything to $1000/mo but $1500/mo is fine if I have to.

3)simple/not hectic city life... - a town is fine, it is the busy busy hectic traffic pollution city life I'm not interested in.

4)...but still have a/c, flush toilet, hot shower, internet access - those are the parts of "western style" that is important to me

5)safe to walk to eat, preferably also for exercise (5 miles) and to a beach - I like to walk about 5 miles a day for exercise and prefer to walk a couple minutes to restaurant/grocery instead of taking other transportation, instead of beach I suppose oceanfront is more my meaning, the ability to sit on my porch and see the ocean would be perfect 

6)attractive single women from which to find quality, not quantity

7)active expat/veteran community 

This is getting long so I will clarify more as needed and change as suggestions dictate.

Steve

• Like 3

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

"Not cold" is not going to be an issue.

A budget that small may work for you depending on your lifestyle.

Living out in the countryside "the Provenances" for the most part will be quiet cleaner and cheaper.

Renting a simple place in da Provenances you may be required to buy an AC unit and an on demand electric water unit.

Near or on a beach and the ability to walk is doable if out in the countryside. 

Active vet and Expat community is not likely.

There is no location that I know of that is lacking nice attractive single ladies.

• Like 2

mogo51
Posted
Posted