Motorbike Trip From Manila - Need Island Recommendations!

afathertobe
Posted
Posted

I have just booked my ticket to Manila over Christmas - NY. I have my motorbike parked in Manila, and plan a week-long trip from there. I like to travel a lot and cover some distance, so I need recommendations for possible routes including ferries/islands. 

I thought about taking a ferry directly from Manila to an island, rather than driving out of its urban sprawl for hours in bad traffic. But very much open to suggestions

Methersgate
Posted
Posted

I am no expert. I hope that RBM will chip in about Negros, which I think might be a nice choice.

Mindanao could be fun.

I assume you have already done a circuit of northern Luzon? If not, I would do that. 

• Like 1

Dave Hounddriver
Posted
Posted

Just a bit of a fantasy, as I haven't yet done it, but what about the ferry from Manila to Boracay (Batangas to Caticlan actually) and then drive down to Iloilo, cross over to Bacolod, down to Duma and across to Cebu island.  Then either take the ferry back to Manila or drive over to Leyte and up through Samar and back through all the traffic.

Anyone done that?  How long did you do it in?

• Like 3

bows00
Posted
Posted

In December, I will be taking a bus ride out to Mindoro - spend some time in Puerto Galera.

• Like 1

MacBubba
Posted
Posted

You can ride out to Quezon province and hop on the ferry at Dalahican to go to Marinduque.

• Like 1

afathertobe
Posted
Posted

Some great ideas guys, keep it coming. Will research on some of these and report back. 

afathertobe
Posted
Posted

Just a bit of a fantasy, as I haven't yet done it, but what about the ferry from Manila to Boracay (Batangas to Caticlan actually) and then drive down to Iloilo, cross over to Bacolod, down to Duma and across to Cebu island.  Then either take the ferry back to Manila or drive over to Leyte and up through Samar and back through all the traffic.

Anyone done that?  How long did you do it in?