Bitcoin - Virtual Currencies and the future of Cash

insite
Posted
Posted

The current speculative frenzy in virtual currency such as Bitcoin is quiet something to behold.

More are climbing onto the bandwagon .....

Cash is being slowly closed down !

Where are we going with this , what are the risks and opportunities of such an investment and how will this impact on ex pat life here or elsewhere.

earthdome
Posted
Posted

I have been following this since 2010 and as a computer programmer understand the technical side fairly well although I am not a cryptography expert. I did try doing remittance using bitcoin but with the fee's to convert from USD to bitcoin then back to peso's it ended up costing about the same as using WU, XOOM, etc. Now that the median fee for doing a bitcoin transfer is around $15 it is no longer competitive. I do have some small crypto currency positions that have done ok but missed many of the major moves.

earthdome
Posted
Posted

FYI, if you decide to put some money into crypto currencies please only invest extra money you could afford to lose and be very careful. WIth crypto currencies now valued at over half a trillion USD there are many scammers trying to take people's money. Be careful and do your due diligence.

• Thanks 1

Reboot
Posted
Posted

I've done rather well but this will not end well.

Gentleman.Jack.Darby
Posted
Posted (edited)
4 hours ago, insite said:

The current speculative frenzy in virtual currency such as Bitcoin is quiet something to behold.

More are climbing onto the bandwagon .....

Cash is being slowly closed down !

Where are we going with this , what are the risks and opportunities of such an investment and how will this impact on ex pat life here or elsewhere.