Buying Land and Property

Onemore52
Posted
Posted

I have posted previously about Purchasing land and in the subject of my thread I suggested to people to "just don't do it", which was too sensitive a phrase for some members, to which I apologise for.

So the following is my encounters here and is the reason for which I would not do it again, at all.

Now before I start this, I have to mention that I have been coming here for four years on and off and that I met my partner on an internet site, and that we are both still together, her family successful in business where we live and have been here for a hundred years, anyway here goes:-

The first "For Sale" was 2-1/2 acres with a 3 bedroom home with a Nippa hut on it, river frontage reasonably priced and everything looked good until we asked for titles, the response "Sir we only have tax declarations for the last 5 years, but you will have no problems". Did some research and it was deceased estate from years previous with still lots of relative alive. PASS ON THAT ONE.

2nd experience:=

10 acres of virgin land with a river frontage, was used for cattle farming, the area being split into 3 parcels of land, 2 parcels of the land was previously used a quarry, of course being from the rivers edge, now further on this becomes an important issue, so remember this bit.

So we went to the seller, of course the intermediary was a real estate agent, all the qualification, yeah right Pig fly.

Having negotiated a price we started the titles search and yes the titles were there except that they were in different names, as bequeathed to the different relatives, no problems we started reaching out to each and every one of them to make sure that they were willing to sell, now this is where it got tricky, as two of them had been remortgaged to settle a debt, or some such thing, blah blah blah, you all know how this goes.