Choosing a location to live low budget

Alexander
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hello everyone! I'm also looking for a wise advice about a place to live. I stay in Thailand since last New Year, but i'll arrive to Philippines in May, gonna stay there for 1-2 years at least, maybe more... I just wanna compare living on Philippines with living in Thailand (Phuket). But i don't know about RP geography a lot, so i hope someone here can give me a good advice, mm?

I don't need a job as i'm a digital freelancer, but my homeland isn't rich country. I earn in russian currency, so my budget is low, it can't exceed 1000 USD monthly. Now that's enough for living on Phuket...

All i can say i don't like living in a big city, but downtown is a good idea. I live in a small village village now, but if I need something from the city, it takes ~30 minutes only to go to the island main city on a motorcycle. Something alike will be great. I'm browsing an information about Puerto-Princesa or Iloilo now, and i'll be grateful if someone can tell me more about choosing a good place for an expat on Philippines.
Thank you all!

EDIT; I moved your great question to a new topic and edited your title to better answer this specific question.

Edited by Old55
  • Like 1

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

50,000 peso is around $1,000 USD. A monthly budget that amount living in a rural area can be done if you are willing to live a simple life.

You said in an early post you would like a higher elevation for cooler weather. So the problem is finding a safe rural area (Called Provence) at elevation with good internet not too far from a medium sized city.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Alexander
Posted
Posted

Thank you for editing the start post Old55, now it's better :)