20,000$ US for soon to be expat

Lordtariq83
Posted
Posted

Hello i m a 35 year old man living outside NewYork City. I am planning on moving to the Philippines in Oct 2020 for betwen 4-6 months....i am bringing with me roughly 20,000$ US maybe a little more and i am wondering how far this can get me living in the Philippines...i am not looking to live extravagantly i just want a 1 or 2 BR apartment in a decent area. Also i work as a welder here in the USA would it be possible to find work welding in the philippines to supplement my income?

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

Welcome to the forum.

Budgets are dependent on the individual needs and wants. We have members living on less than $1,000 USD a month. Others much more. $2,000 a month maybe enough for you depending on your activities and location.

When you say “I’m bringing $20,000 USD with me” you don’t actually mean in your pocket I hope. Use an ATM card or other means don’t have a large sum of cash on hand that could get you killed.

Generaly Foreigners may not work in Philippines. There are likely thousands of unemployed skilled Filipino welders looking for work anyway.

Lordtariq83
Posted
Posted

yes i meant in the bank lol...no way will i ever carry this much cash around ANYWHERE.....i am not a person looking to spend foolishly....i want a 2 br apartment perhaps a vehicle eat out maybe once a week and cook the rest of the time. I am coming by myself so i have no other mouths to feed...do you feel that 20,000$ is enough to live comfortable for 6 months?

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

Yes. If I were single and planned to live reasonably modest outside a large city $20k would be enough to live there for six months.

You understand that you’re likely not to remain single very long? :shades: 

• Like 3

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted
27 minutes ago, Lordtariq83 said: