Is Premium fuel widely available outside Metro?

Ninpo2dan
Posted
Posted

I am still living stateside, and I've been driving a Lexus LX 470 for a few years now. I've fallen in love with the car and many of its features, and I'm thinking about getting one when I move to the Philippines soon. One concern that I have though, is that the car requires premium (92+) fuel. I have seen gas stations in the Metro Manila area selling Premium during my previous trips, but I never really paid attention to it at the time when visiting outside the Metro area. I usually just rented a standard Toyota SUV that ran on regular.

So my question is, how common is it to find gas stations outside the Metro area, like some of the provinces in the outskirts, to be selling Premium fuel? Is it fairly easy to find respectable gas stations that are using quality additives, or is there too much risk in getting crappy fuel that would lead to problems?

If Premium fuel isn't common, I might just go with the non-Lexus version of the same vehicle, which I think is the Toyota Land Cruiser. It will lack several of the features I've come to rely on, but at least it will be cheaper and easier to access the fuel, not to mention cheaper on maintenance and insurance.

• Like 1

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

A close friend owns a Toyota Land Cruiser good choice for Philippines. A bit big though.

sonjack2847
Posted
Posted

Well they have premium fuel here in Dumaguete so I cannot see a problem up around the metro area.

OnMyWay
Posted
Posted

I think Petron is the largest gasoline dealer and as far as I know, the have 95 octane at all the locations, but I could be wrong.  They also have 100 octane available.

GeoffH
Posted
Posted

They have premium at most stations even down here in Mindanao, at least in cities and towns of any real size.  I’ve seen it in small towns way way south of Cebu as well.  I would be surprised if you can’t easily obtain it.

Anselm
Posted
Posted