Smelly Condos

Matt M
Posted
Posted

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum. I've been coming to PH for several years now and as many of you know, most of the times the kitchens and bathrooms can smell like a sewer. Does anyone know what causes this and how to fix it? Obviously in the kitchen the problem has to do with the drain and in particular, the area under the sink (this area always smells bad no matter how nice the place is that I'm staying in). In the bathroom it's harder to know if the smell is coming from the sink, the toilet, or the shower drain (possibly all three!).

The hosts of the places I stay with don't seem to mind the smell, but it drives me crazy and if it was an easy fix, I would do it myself or even hire someone. Thanks for the info expats :)

• Like 2

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

Usually condos have a grease trap under the sink. It can smell if the lid is not tight. 

• Like 2

frosty (chris)
Posted
Posted
34 minutes ago, Matt M said:

Apologies if this is in the wrong forum. I've been coming to PH for several years now and as many of you know, most of the times the kitchens and bathrooms can smell like a sewer. Does anyone know what causes this and how to fix it? Obviously in the kitchen the problem has to do with the drain and in particular, the area under the sink (this area always smells bad no matter how nice the place is that I'm staying in). In the bathroom it's harder to know if the smell is coming from the sink, the toilet, or the shower drain (possibly all three!).

The hosts of the places I stay with don't seem to mind the smell, but it drives me crazy and if it was an easy fix, I would do it myself or even hire someone. Thanks for the info expats :)