Challenging move ahead

Ninpo2dan
Posted
Posted

To start off, I'm a disabled veteran getting VA disability pay, and I'm currently waiting for my VA claim appeal to finish. When it's complete and my rating is increased, I'll be making plenty of money to retire in the Philippines. I'm also going to be applying for SSDI, which will add a small amount on top of the VA pay. Not to mention, I'm going to get a fairly decent sum in back-pay from the VA.

The thing is, I'm looking at about another year or so before the VA appeal is finally done, and I really don't want to wait another 1-2 years to get the hell out of this place. I'll be meeting with a lawyer at the beginning of next month to file SSDI, since I'm already being treated for service-connected disability at the VA. I'm told it should only take a few months for that to start paying out, at which time I think I can live ok in the Philippines.

So my plan is to get the SSDI, combined with the VA disability I'm already getting, and that combined should be about $2000 a month. I can then move over there, live off of that for now, and just come back to US when I need to do the final medical exams. When the VA appeal is done, and I'm getting paid my full amount, then I can fully settle in.

So when I do first move there, since I don't have a bunch of money saved up, I'm thinking of just getting the regular tourist visa and then extending it as needed until the appeal is done. So that's 30 days at first, then extended up to 3 years?

Once the VA appeal is done and I have my full income and back pay, I'll be getting the SRRV. I'm only 41 right now, so I have to choose one of the options that requires a large bank deposit. But once I turn 50, I qualify for the military courtesy SRRV, which only requires a $1500 deposit. I'm assuming that means first I pay the $20,000 and when I turn 50, I take that money back and reapply for the new one? Does anyone else have experience with those types of visa?