Choosing oven

Viking
Posted
Posted

We plan to buy a new gas range and need some advice on what to choose. I have seen that some have electrical ovens but most are gas. Where I come from we only have electrical ones, so I have no experience at all with gas ovens. We will mostly use it for baking bread, pizza, scones, lasanga, puddings and grill chicken. 

What do you prefer and why, gas or electric?

Have been looking online at La Germania, Tecnogas, Whirlpool and Fujidenzo, does any of you have any experice of these brands?

• Like 1
  • Hmm thinking 1

Gary D
Posted
Posted

We made the mistake of buying an oven without thermostat control, completely unusable.

• Thanks 1
  • Sad 1

virginprune
Posted
Posted

I bought a gas oven and the thermostat is just for show, it's only really high, middle and low. Brand is Boston Bay, the matching hob is good though. Got used to it but not for baking as more of an exact science.

When I replace I will go for electric fan oven....and pray for no brownout lol...There is an Italian brand sold near me but can't remember the name. Depending on where you will be living you would more likely have greater choice than me.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

OnMyWay
Posted
Posted

We have a La Germania gas with electric fan oven and works well.  No issues.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

• Forum Support
Tommy T.
Posted
Posted (edited)
7 hours ago, Viking said:

Have been looking online at La Germania, Tecnogas, Whirlpool and Fujidenzo, does any of you have any experice of these brands?

I have a Fujidenzo oven... It came with the furnished apartment. I hate it. It is a smaller, cheaper unit, so maybe it is just because it is a cheapo model? I have to set the temperature at least 25 degrees C above the temperatures listed in my recipes. When I first moved in here 1 1/2 years ago, it seemed to be about right for temperature. Now it seems to be drifting to less heat at the same settings from before.