Getting around by car

stevewool
Posted
Posted

I silly question maybe , but driving around the Philippines and using a sat nav , do they work just as good as driving around the USA or even Europe , I know sometimes if you put the wrong postcode or spell the place you are wanting you could be driving many miles out of the way but as a experienced driver I have a six sense when I feel I am going the wrong way sat nav or not, but  every bit of help may be needed for me to drive keeping my eyes on the road avoiding roaming dogs , mad bike riders and the enforcement officers .

Jack D
Posted
Posted

I used the Waze app on my iPhone for SAT NAV, and it didn't work out too well for me sometimes. I would often get lost with the directions that the app provided.

The cellular signal for LTE/3G/Edge is weak and spotty in many parts of the Philippines and the accuracy of SAT NAV (at least the Waze app) relies on a high quality cellular signal.

• Like 2

Kuya John
Posted
Posted (edited)
3 hours ago, stevewool said:

but  every bit of help may be needed for me to drive keeping my eyes on the road avoiding roaming dogs , mad bike riders and the enforcement officers

"Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun"

Steve, you are a brave man to attempt to find your way round Luzon, I would rather risk bus journeys with all it entails, than even think of driving in Philippines, unless I had spent at least a few months there and only in the provinces. :thumbsup:

Edited by Kuya John
correction
  • Like 3

stevewool
Posted
Posted
9 minutes ago, Kuya John said:

"Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun"

Steve, you are a brave man to attempt to find your way round Luzon, I would rather risk bus journeys with all it entails, than even think of driving in Philippines, unless I had spent at least a few months there and only in the provinces. :thumbsup: