Sign in to follow this  
davaodavao

Dividend from Australian business to non-resident Australian citizen, what are the Philippine tax implications?

Apologies if this is the wrong category.

I'm trying to find out what tax I would need to be paying if I receive a franked or Unfranked dividend from an Australian company. It seems a franked dividend has already had 27.5-30% tax already paid before it's received and the tax treaty seems to mention 25% cap on tax paid on the gross value but I can't figure out what that means, is it gross value received after Australian tax taken out or does the Australian tax get considered when Philippine tax is calculated.

Considering the question is fairly specific and might be complicated perhaps a better question is where can I find a tax accountant/lawyer that can help me with this? 

Hi Davao.

I am not a lawyer or accountant, but I was married to one (accountant) for many years. Your question is a bit vague about where you receive your dividend. Were it me, I would receive it in the country where it is issued. Just have it deposited in a bank or investment institution there. It looks like Australia? Then it is done and settled and you pay whatever tax is owed there.

After that, you can forward those funds anywhere in the world without further tax being applied. You do not owe income tax in the Philippines unless it is earned here. Or is that too simplistic an answer?

Edited by Tommy T.
  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
  • Hmm thinking 1

1 hour ago, Tommy T. said:

You do not owe income tax in the Philippines unless it is earned here. Or is that too simplistic an answer?

I think it may be, Tom - if davaodavao happened to be a Filipina wouldn't he be subject to taxes here based on global income?  As a foreigner he would be taxed only on income earned here but is he? I know his flag shows Australia but...

8 minutes ago, hk blues said: