Real estate lawyer fees

rustian
Posted
Posted

Hello,

This is my first post to this forum and I'm looking forward to be an active contributor.

My wife and I have been married for more than 7 years. She is from Cavite and we are looking at a property in Imus. I just need help with legal steps so I will be having a consultation call with a lawyer tomorrow. I'm asking to check on the customary fees on the following: 

1. Verify legal capacity of the owner to sell the property
  2. Advise on payment procedure since I have no experience with how this is done in the Philippines. Even with my own experience in three other countries, I have never bought a property from the owner directly. I either buy from the developer or through a bank.

So, I would love to get advice from members on the customary fees I should pay to the lawyer for the above. 

Cheers, 

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted (edited)

Welcome to the forum Rustian.

What you need is a trusted lawyer in the Imus Cavite area. Maybe someone here knows of one.

In my opinion I would be doing this face to face not long distance. Good luck.

Edited by Old55
  • Like 1

rustian
Posted
Posted

Thanks Old55.

My wife got me the consultation, so she is on ground already in Imus where she visited the law office. I requested that I speak with the lawyer myself. So, yes a face-to-face contact is there it's just not me. 

I will wait to see if any of the members would have some feedback.

Cheers,

RBM
Posted
Posted
14 hours ago, rustian said:

Thanks Old55.

My wife got me the consultation, so she is on ground already in Imus where she visited the law office. I requested that I speak with the lawyer myself. So, yes a face-to-face contact is there it's just not me. 

I will wait to see if any of the members would have some feedback.

Cheers,

There are to many pit falls here to mention in you paying and your wife buying land.