9a visa help: Financial Capacity

Northbird
Posted
Posted

Hello everyone, this is my first time posting here. I have been living with my girlfriend in the Philippines for 2 years during 2019 & 2020. In December 2020 I returned home to celebrate the holidays with my family, thinking that the pandemic would mostly fade away in 2021. That was obviously not the case and looking back at it was very naive of me to think that.

Anyways I have not been with my girlfriend for quite some time now and I really want to get back with her. She unfortunately has been offloaded twice in the past year and since the Philippines do not seem to open up to tourists any time soon we planned to get married online via Utah in order for me to get my 9a visa. We already made many preperations and have a date in mind. We also figured out how to meet all the requirements regarding the ROM and the visa application. Except for one: the financial capacity. I am rather concerned with that requirment since I can't seem to find a definitive answer on the matter. I am not rich whatsoever. I guess my income is on the lower average actually. But I had always managed to support myself and my girlfriend during my previous stay without any issues whatsoever. I know very well that I would have no problems financing myself in the future either. The Philippine government on the other hand might not think so though. I hope some of you who already got their 9a visa in the past year(s) can answer me the following: 

1.) How strict are they really with that specific requirement? 

2.) Is it enough to send photocopies of my bank statements or do they want the original? How many months should I include? 

3.) As mentioned earlier, I don't have a lot to my name but a steady flow of transactions and income. Would that suffice? Or is their a certain threshold or a magic number they want to see on my bank account?

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance. 

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted