Mango Wood Treatment

• Forum Support
Tommy T.
Posted
Posted

I was not sure where to place this topic so picked this as seemingly most appropriate?

We recently were able to buy some cuts of mango to use as a few outdoor tables and maybe some stools. I looked online regarding how to deal with mango wood as I have no experience with it. I can work with teak mainly. Online suggestions included that teak does not necessarily need to be dried like some other woods. Simply applying timber treatment oils sounded simple and possible.

I was thinking to be a bit more aggressive by letting it dry for at least a month, then applying epoxy to seal it from the elements, followed by spar varnish to provide weather and UV protection. I also found teak oil online so could simply apply that periodically. Anyone have ideas or experience they might be willing to share?

Also, I am wondering about the bark. Should I remove it or just clean it up and epoxy/varnish over it? I have seen some wood rounds with bark still attached and then coated with something akin to epoxy or acrylic? Don't know what it was, but it looked really good and added to the visual interest and variety.

Thanks in advance...

• Forum Support
Mike J
Posted
Posted

Googled "mango wood lumber" and found this site.   At the bottom is a chat function with Q&A that should help you.  Here is the Philippines you would definately need to treat it to prevent termites.  I would recommend clear solignum after the wood has dried.

https://www.wood-database.com/mango/

• Thanks 1

Possum
Posted
Posted

The old rule of thumb for drying fresh cut lumber is 1 year for each inch of thickness. Wood here is rarely dried long enough. I had a beautiful front door made from Acacia and filled cracks for two years. Once it was dry I used spar urethane to protect it, good stuff.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• Forum Support
Tommy T.
Posted
Posted
21 hours ago, Mike J said: