Resto Service Descrimination Against Fil-Foreigner Couples?

Nickleback99
Posted
Posted

Guess I could start this topic under several sub-forums, but figured would start here given location this happened.......

Although have lived here before (Philippines lite as USG provided a great home and amenities at no cost to me)  and visited more times than can count, I am a Newbie as living here on own as retiree now; so, had recent bad resto-bar experience in Antipolo area I'm wondering about.  We’re at Padi's there few nights ago for Adult beverages, Incredible metropolis skyline views And planned dinner, but we got  what Seemed to be  “Filipina Married to Foreigner” discrimination, IF such exists(?), and ignored upon entry until we finally asked for seating (was Not at all crowded....maybe 5 of 30 tables occupied), which we were seated by view rail, given menus, then ignored for about 15 minutes, including waving for their attention and they’d obviously look away like “I can’t see you!”, until my Asawa went and asked them why we had not been waited on for 15 minutes, when other Fil only couples after us had been waited on sitting right next to us.   We were then promptly served after her politely calling them out.  Considering prior discussions here on tips, seemed like self-defeating behavior by staff, If intentional.  Someone else told me maybe they were just shy of foreigners, but since this seems a touristy spot And in metro NCR, I don't think so.   My Asawa said it absolutely was intentional, and she's a a native here.  We ultimately  decided take our dinner biz to a much better place (Gerry’s Grille), where we've never had a bad meal or bad service.  SO!...My question is, Is this a thing here?  If so, is it frequent or just depends on the location.    I can tell you we got Excellent treatment just week before at the Padi's in Caloocan-Fairview and This incident/situation was the first time I've experienced the bad side seemgingly directed At Us.   Not bashing anyo