Philippino Birth Certificate Changes

Braddo
Posted
Posted

I am hoping some one in the forum can help with advise on how to get our brother in -laws birth certificate changed Our brother in-law works for the Balamban ship building company as a qualified steel welder I have an oportunity to bring him to Australia on a workers visa to work on the Gas pipelines here, we have all his documents and paperwork thats is required but unfortunatly we have found that on his birth certificate he has been put down as a female not male. He has just been married to my wifes sister earlier this year and nothing had been said by priest or anyone else about his birth certificate, he didn't even know it had the mistake. Now after he has gone to the immigration office to ask how to get this fixed they said he had to go to a judge then to re apply for a new certificate cost quoted was nearly P60,000 I know things work in funny ways in the PI but shorly if the births office had made the mistake about being male or female can't he just go to an office relating to this and get a new certificate instead of doing the run around and contributing to everyones pocket I relize that a donation will have to be paid under the table somewere but as long as it is not thousands I don't mind, I just think that here is an opportunity to set our family and his up over there and now it is going down the drain because of an errow no fault of his own Has anyone got any ideas on what I need to do to get this fixed I would be very gratefull Cheers Braddo

Candyman
Posted
Posted

This happened to us to, and here is what I wrote about it at the time :