How Are Afro- Americans Perceived By The General Population Of Filopinos

wayneseymour
Posted
Posted

I don't want to start any cultural tensions among forum members but as a Afro-American with a Caribbean background planning to move to the Philippines I would like to get a genuine insight as to how I may be received once there. My GF and I have been talking to one another everyday now for about 6 months via web-cam so she knows what I look like and has no reservations as to my culture I have also seen and chatted with her brothers and her sister and other in-laws and have not felt any negative vibes ( although its web cam you can sometimes sense and see moods and expressions of people). They seem to accepted the fact of who I am and are always sending me greetings and pictures of them to my face-book...sometimes asking why I haven't replied if the time passes a few days and I have not responded to their face book greetings. I have no social hang-ups if other people dislike me for my background its how the world turns, I simply don't interact with them to avoid any unnecessary petty issues. However I am interested to know what I will be faced with so I will know how to adjust to whatever atmosphere that presents itself without offending anyone or being drawn into stupid confrontations. Here in the Cayman Islands are a vast number of Filipinos who come here to work. I have not heard of any issues with them and the general population. they seem to adapt to the change in environment very well and I have found them, to be very outgoing and friendly. Just doing this as part of my extensive research before the move. also looking for info on best banks to deal with. searched the forum but havent seen anything current. Thanks to all for any info or comments that will help.

• Like 1

Mike S
Posted
Posted