Remote Access To Another Computer

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted

Or GoToMyPC software which I believe will still work that way.

Norseman
Posted
Posted

Windows 7 makes this really easy now. It use to be so hard.

FlyAway
Posted
Posted
Or GoToMyPC software which I believe will still work that way.
You can also use "Teamviewer" or "LogMeIn". They have their free versions. The free ones do not let you transfer files. He made it sound like all you need to do is type in the name of your PC anywhere you have an internet connection. The video failed to mention a few things. The way he showed the PC and the laptop being connected was through a common router. This is by no means a 100% complete guide to Remote Desktop. I am still learning to effectively write up things so please bare with me if a few things were overlooked. There are many variables that can come into play when setting up a Remote Desktop/RDP connection. After typing everything below, I remembered Remote Desktop is not available on Windows 7 Starter or Home Premium Edition :hystery: . Oh well, already typed up so might as well leave it. http://windows.micro...asked-questions. If you want to access the PC from any internet connection, there are a few more steps to set it all up. Most likely you will have what is called a DHCP internet address from your internet service provider. This is an address that is "Leased" to you for a pre-determined number of days. It could last 7 to 14 days or might last until you shut off your PC. Now this same DHCP address could be leased to a home router. The router would then assign its own DHCP address to PC's, laptops, Cell phones, or any other internet accessible device. Normally they will assign numbers starting with 192.168.x.x. Depends on the manufacturer. If your IP address starts with those set of numbers, you can count on being assigned a DHCP address through the router not the service provider. What does all this have to do with Remote Desktop? Best examp