Do I Really Need An Architect?

jeff bradshaw
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hi. I have been clearing the ground on our plot in Paligawan (Silang, Cavite) and the access road to it and will soon be into the building phase. I now hit the issue of whether I need an architect or not. I am a qualified electrical engineer and fully across all the requirements of building a house including designing the septic system, drainage, electrical, plumbing etc, wall and foundation construction and the current Philippine building regulations. I have designed the whole house down to the minor detail and produced plans in full 3D with all the required materials....now I hit the Philippines where most people are poor and cannot afford the luxuries of paying someone to do what they cannot afford. Now, the Building permit seems to require an inordinate amount of red tape for even the simplest of dwellings, from Sanitation engineer, electrical, plumbing etc all with complete certification as a 'licensed' practitioner in the RP. Plus the Barangay clearance for the water install, electrical install, building permit ( ant not just once but separate clearance for each step), mayor's permit, sign off from the fire station etc etc. Now, considering the rubbish you see being built here, that I would go ballistic if anyone built my house like that....is the only way to proceed to pay 'Grease money' to buy off all the officials and signatories and be forever in their debt for when they want to 'cash in' a favour from me....or is there another cost effective way? I am interested to know others experiences. How can anyone on a meager income ever build a house here without some grease?Regards in advanceJeff

Edited by jeff bradshaw

Garpo
Posted
Posted

Are you going to build it on your own and hire the workers or are you going to retain a builder? If you can find a good and honest builder then he will take care of all of that for you if you make sure to include it in the contract.

Bundy
Posted
Posted