Making The Move

wingmanPI
Posted
Posted

I have been traveling to PI for the last 6 years or so and have spent 2 months a year there for the last 3 years. On my last tripin December 2011 I finally made the decision that I will be making the move to PI permanently by the end of 2013. I am only37 so will not have a pension or fixed income to rely upon which would obviously be the perfect scenario. I am currently looking atdifferent places to settle including cebu, bulacan and subic. I have different reasons for each area but open to all options at thispoint as I am doing my best to try and plan this move out in the most responsible manner keeping in mind it will carry a highdegree of risk no matter what I do. So here are the general details of my plan and I would be happy to hear any thoughts oradvice from those of you that have done this successfully before.-before making the move I will have 2-3 years of living expenses in savings ( based on 45-60,000 php per month)-I will have a seperate "bail out" fund set aside in case things do not work out for a plane ticket/expenses to get started back at home in the US.-I will also have a side account for the funds needed to start my life in PI for deposits, furniture, tv etc.-I will be starting 3 online business ideas this year in the hope that they will be earning a small amount of money by next year, maybe $300-$500 per month is the goal to get started.-I have a filipina fiance and will not need to be hitting the bars frequently. just would like to meet some good expats in the area I settle to get advice from and hang out with.-I would prefer to live in a smaller town as I do not really enjoy the big city. I will need a good internet connection so this may limit my options.-my lifestyle I would classify as halfway between filipino and american. I live a fairly basic life and do not need all of the comforts available in the US. I do enjoy cold beer and cigs but that would be my biggest splurge. no need for I phones, flat s