Immigration, The Formal Way

Campero
Posted
Posted

Hello,

Based on reading a lot of the subjects here and on countless other boards, it appears (at least to me, but I could be wrong) that the majority of foreigners that immigrate to the Philippines (majority without Pinay spouse, minority with) just do so on a tourist visa and then play leap frog around when their visa is about to run out, or pay the penalty etc.

How many people actually go through all the paperwork and immigrations procedures, including the $20K or $40K (I think, depending on your age) bank deposit to obtain permanent legal residency before actually going to live there, with proof of income, etc? I mean, you supposedly get the money back after one year, and according to the procedures, that money may be used for a business or for real estate before the 12 month period too.

Due to my often narrow mindedness (I am an engineer, go figure) I think I am missing something, really.

So, what are the advantages/disadvantages to immigrating following proper protocol, or doing it on a tourist visa? Or..........is it a taboo to discuss this here?

Respectfully,

Campero

• Like 2

Mike S
Posted
Posted

If you are talking about an SRRV visa then here is the latest link to the government website ...... http://www.pra.gov.p...in/srrv_program ....... there are now 4 choices but you may not qualify for the last 2 unless you need medical treatment or a Pilipino expat ...... and I see no where that it mentioned getting your investment back in 1 year .... and if you buy c condo or townhouse it must be $50,000 dollars US (sorry but that is what the site said) ..... which maybe OK if you have that much money laying around ..... you also have to pay $1400 (again their term not mine) which you don't get back and if you elect to just use the deposit it is in a bank of their choice not yours ......

post-11-0-18943000-1337236708_thumb.jpeg

• Like 1

Campero
Posted
Posted