Conflict With Food & Eating

Adventurer
Posted
Posted (edited)

I have started living with my girlfriend but there is a problem as we both like different types of food. I'm an ex chef and have certain foods I like and things I would not eat. I also studied nutrition and try to live a healthy life. On the other hand my young girlfriend only knows how to cook a couple of Filipino dishes, with rice. She piles on loads of salt and the packet spices that I assume include MSG etc. She will not eat anything I cook besides some pasta but only as a supplement to her rice and usually pork. I said I would be able to eat her food but as long as she can cut out the salt and artificial spices but she doesn't want to budge. She only thinks about her food, when she gets up in the morning it is a heavy meal of rice, pork and veggies while I only eat some oats and fruit, she has that again for lunch and dinner. She never offers to cook anything for me besides offering me some of hers while I'm constantly offering to make her meals. I have made some very delicious foods in normal situation, restaurant quality dishes with fresh ingredients like fish, veggies, chicken, beef etc but she does not like much of it. It is a the point now where we could end up breaking up..... Has anyone had this happen, how did you deal with it? I have tried to talk to her but she does not want to listen to me so I'm really disappointed.

Edited by Adventurer

Jack Peterson
Posted
Posted

She never offers to cook anything for me besides offering me some of hers while I'm constantly offering to make her meals. It is a the point now where we could end up breaking up..... Has anyone had this happen, how did you deal with it? I have tried to talk to her but she does not want to listen to me so I'm really disappointed.