Human Trafficking & The Expat

generalmark
Posted
Posted

i am not a legal expert with the intimate knowledge of global laws about human trafficking but trying to work out how not to get trapped in it, i was wondering how other expats deal with this very tricky area of the law.

marriage is not an option as i dont sign contracts now or in the future so having a girlfriend is the most commitment i want to make.

it seems to me that any exchange of or giving of financial value, however small, can be construed to be human trafficking unless of course there is a contract in place.

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted (edited)

I think you understand the situation clearly. If you pay for sex in Philippines or are alone with a woman under the age of 18 you could find yourself in a great deal of trouble.

Many men think as you looking for a girlfriend or to be in a monogamous long term relationship outside of marriage.

Edited by Old55

Bruce
Posted
Posted

Not really an issue if you make sure she is over 21. (Ok 18, but 21 is better). The older the less of an issue with family. You are worrying about the stuff that may never happen and thereby not enjoying yourself. In reality, I do not remember anyone having an issue with an over 21 who he was not actually hiring to work as a sex worker. If you want a GF, I see no problems as long as you screen her the same way you would screen an Anglo woman as a potential scammer. Once past the vetting, go for it.   

• Like 2

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

Excellent point Bruce!

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

i am not a legal expert with the intimate knowledge of global laws about human trafficking but trying to work out how not to get trapped in it, i was wondering how other expats deal with this very tricky area of the law.

marriage is not an option as i dont sign contracts now or in the future so having a girlfriend is the most commitment i want to make.