Looking For Advice - Potentially Buying A Condo (Manila Area)

Shol
Posted
Posted

Hi there.

I have worked in the Philippines for 6 years and I pay all my taxes and had a nice expat package.  Recently I have moved away

from my older company and am doing freestyle consulting management for a few Canadian Companies however the work

is not nearly as frequent as I would like my own state of mind as well for my finances.   I have just come back to PH to live after being on a 4 month

vacation in US and now am currently renting a humble place for a few months until I get back on my feet.   I have extensive management experience in the

BPO Industry so I am anticipating if required I will bel able to work in the near future as many of my expat friends are currently doing.

I have enough savings and investments to keep me going on for maybe 8-10 years as long as I watch my savings and don't eat out too much and

don't get hooked up with the wrong people or girl.   I will be eligible in maybe 10 years for a retirement pension of about 1000USD a month or so perhaps more with the cost

of living increases. 

I have some leads into some real estate properties and can get some really really solid deals right now.  IT would be a small unit but I could technically live there pay very little association dues / meralco and when I would be working more frequently with more income would then be able to rent it out if I was relocated to a province or could move to a bigger place.  If everything fails I could rent it out or flip or sell it probably at a profit.   I currently would be able to purchase a property like the above with flat out cash with huge discount.

I have been given a few different flavors of advice.