House Inspection

davewe
Posted
Posted

Here's a potentially stupid question (it woudnt be my first). While retirement and therefore moving to PI is 2-4 years away one of my goals on this current trip was to scope out potential cities/towns to live in and even real estate.

Yes, I know I know - rent first. But I'm a cautious anal guy and wanted to see what my experience would be with looking at houses, using a real estate agent, etc. the experiences were intesting (might make a different topic). But what occured to me is this. In the US you generally hire a guy to do an inpection when buying used property. He tells you what's good and bad. This is of course before the sale is finalized. Maybe you go back to the seller and ask for changes or repairs.

Are there any similar inspectors in PI? If not, did you find a friend, contractor, etc. to take a look or just hoped for the best? I have no such experience and couldn't tell whether a house is fundamentally sound or not.

• Like 2

OnMyWay
Posted
Posted

Thanks for asking as I am curious about this too.  Hopefully someone knows about inspectors here.

Stillpoint
Posted
Posted

I've built here, and rather than an inspector I'd hire a reputable engineer to check out the place.  One good thing in PH is that labor is cheap--relatively--even engineers.  Also a termite inspection.  If you're buying concrete there are still things to look at as leaks, etc. 

Also, I'd AVOID agents BY THEMSELVES cuz they basically have just their commission properties. No MLS here. Bring someone who lives in the city or area and is loyal to you.  Think about noise at the location..  visit at night when everyone's home...and the K bars are pumping music.

It would be very EZ to buy a nice house and find a bario with tin roof and makeshift walls DENSLY populated well within earshot.  You might wanna travel the area in a tricyle slowly and watch for that type of thing before buying

• Like 1

billygoat993
Posted
Posted (edited)