Where Is My Residency? A Us Citizen With A Work Visa In The Philippines.

ksome1
Posted
Posted

I am not sure where to find this information. I am currently working here in the Philippines on a work visa and will be here at least another year. I moved form Houston Texas with my 7 year old daughter. I am trying to go after her mother for child support and my attorney asked me am I still a resident of Texas since I am living and working in the Philippines on a work visa. I have a mailing address in Houston, and still am registered to vote there but do not own a home there any longer. Has anyone ever had a situation like this or can give me some advice as to my residency? My Lawyer said for her to pursue it legally that I would have to be a Texas resident. 

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

I'm no expert but to me you are a resident of Texas as you are the voters roll with a mailing address. While in the Philippines you are only working with a work visa and not a 13a so the Philippines is not your permanent residence. Thats only my opinion but why can't your lawyer tell you?

jon1
Posted
Posted

I am not a lawyer, but you have a Houston address, still registered to vote and most likely still have a Texas driver's license. I would say that you are a Texas resident working abroad. You will run into this at tax time. Maintaing the address, and driver's license are key.

robert k
Posted
Posted

I agree with the above. Unless it has changed, for purposes of dealing with the state of Texas, you can have a permanent address as long as the people actually occupying the address agree. It saved me from submitting countless change of address forms and having to get a new updated drivers licence every 4 months to a year.

BrettGC
Posted
Posted