Electricity In The Philippines

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

This was sent to me sometime back from one of the yahoo groups, might be of interest to someone here

Dear Members,Personally I enjoy the arguements about the electric service in the Philippines. I've been an electrician for 30+ years in the USA and I totally rewired my father-in-law' s house in Sibonga, Cebu. I will try to address some of the issues about the electric service you will find in most of the Philippines, although I understand there are small areas of American style systems arround the old US military bases."IDEALLY", here is what you "should" have in the majority of the Philippines: A transformer on a pole somewhere near your house, it will be serving several houses in the neighborhood. It will have 2 lugs on the secondary with 220 volts between them. There will be 1 wire from each lug going to each house. One and only one of the lugs "should" also have a second bare copper wire connected to it with the other wire and this bare wire will run down the pole to a ground rod at the base of the pole. The 2 large wires running to each house (service drop) will have the hot wire insulated and the other (neutral) may be bare or insulated.