Importing personal items - authorized representative B.I.R.

SamMindanao
Posted
Posted

Hi folks,  newbie here looking for advice info on importing my personal household stuff into the Philippines from the U.K.

I've  been in touch with Customs and the B.i.R. who gave me a list of the documentary requirements and suggested I get an authorized representative as the docs need to be submitted in person in Manila, and I'm in Mindanao😕

I've searched Google without success for an authorized representative has anyone been through this process and used an authorized representative, if so who did you use?

Also a large part of my belongings is made up of my vinyl record collection some 2000+ has anyone else imported, as I read somewhere that collectibles are not exempt from duty, is this so as when I mentioned to the B.I.R. they didn't say anything?

Thanks in advance for advice/info!

Sam

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted

Welcome to the forum Sam.

I can't help you with the customs and BIR contact or information. Will you use a container?

I've sent several 100 LP's in Balikbayan boxes without issues but that doesn't answer your question. I will say this..... Build wooden boxes to safely ship them in that's what I did and they did arrive Okay.

There is a small but active audiophile community here in Philippines.

• Like 2

hk blues
Posted
Posted
21 minutes ago, SamMindanao said:

Hi folks,  newbie here looking for advice info on importing my personal household stuff into the Philippines from the U.K.

I've  been in touch with Customs and the B.i.R. who gave me a list of the documentary requirements and suggested I get an authorized representative as the docs need to be submitted in person in Manila, and I'm in Mindanao😕

I've searched Google without success for an authorized representative has anyone been through this process and used an authorized representative, if so who did you use?