Mother Of All Philipines Festivals - Sinulog - 2010

Gold Heart
Posted
Posted

I had been here this time of year twice before and seen the specticle from many angles. This year presents a new one as I'm a resident with new options and new opportunties. Sinulog 30 - 2010.Sinulog is one of the most amazing spectacles I've witnessed and I've been lucky to see some amazing sights in my life. If you are here, I hope you don't miss tomorrow. Unfortunately, the weather has been the worst since my arrival in July and the forecast is for rain tomorrow. The performances have a unique combination of influences reflecting the Filipino culture with costumes full of color reflecting the influences of tribal hertitage, Spain, China, and the West and of course the Christian basis around Santo Nino.The top Filipino entertainers pass through Cebu this week and all appeared at the Waterfront. My wife and I went to see Lea Salonga last Sunday and last night Regine Valasquez. Great performances from magnificent artists (no one sings a broadway ballad like Lea, and no one has a voice like Regine) at affordable prices compared to seeing concerts in the US.They had 5 of the top troups perform at the Cebu International School today and they were fantastic. In previous years I've watched the parade from the streets but tomorrow, I've got tickets in the stadium to see performances on stage. If you are in Cebu tomorrow -- I hope you plan to see and enjoy. If you ever get a chance to come, this is a great although most busyand difficult time to visit. The streets and hotels are full. You guys coming next month will miss this great event.Pit Senyor!

MikeB
Posted
Posted

I would love to see it but, as you said, the hotels are full and I've heard they jack up the prices on everything during the festival so I avoid it. Someday...

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted