Searching For Expat Psychologist Or Psychiatrist

MarcManila
Posted
Posted

Hello all, Total newb to this forum but hoping folks can help me out. I'm searching for a psychologist or psychiatrist in the Metro Manila area to help me deal with 6+ years of frustration from living here in Manila. Obviously I'm not handling these frustrations very well if I'm looking for help, heh. I'd likely feel more comfortable talking to an expat who's practicing over here but who knows, maybe there are local psychologists who specialize in this sort of thing? I can't be the first expat having a hard time adjusting to living in a different culture. Beggars can't be choosers but I'd really prefer a psychologist to a psychiatrist. Generally I've found psychologist help you figure out ways to deal with issues while psychiatrists pull out the prescription pad first.

Inspector
Posted
Posted

Can't help you there Marc, but I'm not sure a psychologist in a different culture would help as much as one from the west....especially if the problem IS the culture. Personally, I would head back where you come from and get treated there.

Mr Lee
Posted
Posted

Sorry I cannot be of direct help for you on this question, but I have usually found that the best way to find a doctor in another field, is to talk to any other doctor or dentist you are already seeing and ask them if they know anyone since they usually hang around with each other and will often know of the best in different fields of medicine. Yes most of us have problems dealing with some issues due to culture, so I hope you can find a way of dealing with the stress it is causing you.

• Forum Support
Old55
Posted
Posted