Is Northern Samar Safe?

Teedo
Posted
Posted

Hello guys,

I've only just joined so sorry if this is posted in the wrong section.

I will be visiting Northern Samar, Catarman and surrounding areas and wondering if many of you have been there, And if it's safe with the NPA? I am a little worried after reading about them....

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

Hello guys,

I will be visiting Northern Samar, Catarman and surrounding areas and wondering if many of you have been there, And if it's safe with the NPA? I am a little worried after reading about them....

Our Member Bruce is in Samar now, not sure exactly where but I will ask him. He travels there frequently.

JJReyes
Posted
Posted

Bruce is in Catbalogan, which is the city capital of Samar.

jode
Posted
Posted (edited)

Hello guys,

I don't think the NPA's beef is with foreigners. but mostly with the police and army. I don't think there are kidnappings of foreigners by them. Although i am no expert.

My gf's family is from one of remotest areas of cebu island. I had read where at one time it was a stronhold for the NPA. I asked my gf's mother and grandma about them. They actually said it was better when NPA was in control. They supressed peoples"bad behavior" as they put it.

Now people are harrased and bullied by drunken, gun toting, barangay officials. Some wish the NPA would come back to deal with them.

Edited by jode
  • Like 2

GeorgeRoberts
Posted
Posted

Where is samar and what is the NPA?

Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Jollygoodfellow
Posted
Posted

Hello guys,

Our Member Bruce is in Samar now, not sure exactly where but I will ask him. He travels there frequently.

Bruce's answer to my Email.